Some Things A Person Simply Can Not Come Back From

An Iraq veteran and former JSOC member named Daniel Somers killed himself on June 10th. He was 30-years-old. He left a suicide note to his family that captures the reality of the soldier in the U.S. imperial project as well as anything. There is no better antidote to the chauvinist nationalist narratives furnished by the state to justify the perpetual wars. It is a deeply moving letter that must be read in full but I will excerpt some passages below.

http://gawker.com/i-am-sorry-that-it-has-come-to-this-a-soldiers-last-534538357

“The simple truth is this: During my first deployment, I was made to participate in things, the enormity of which is hard to describe. War crimes, crimes against humanity. Though I did not participate willingly, and made what I thought was my best effort to stop these events, there are some things that a person simply can not come back from. I take some pride in that, actually, as to move on in life after being part of such a thing would be the mark of a sociopath in my mind. These things go far beyond what most are even aware of.
To force me to do these things and then participate in the ensuing coverup is more than any government has the right to demand. Then, the same government has turned around and abandoned me. ….

Daniel and his wife, Angeline, at an Army ball. (Phoenix New Times/Courtesty of Angeline Somers)

Since then, I have tried everything to fill the void. I tried to move into a position of greater power and influence to try and right some of the wrongs. I deployed again, where I put a huge emphasis on saving lives. The fact of the matter, though, is that any new lives saved do not replace those who were murdered. It is an exercise in futility.
Then, I pursued replacing destruction with creation. For a time this provided a distraction, but it could not last. The fact is that any kind of ordinary life is an insult to those who died at my hand. How can I possibly go around like everyone else while the widows and orphans I created continue to struggle? If they could see me sitting here in suburbia, in my comfortable home working on some music project they would be outraged, and rightfully so.”

Leave a Reply

